Skip to main content

Ireland: Update on what is considered an essential worker under the latest Level 5 public health restrictions

08 January 2021

Under the latest Level 5 restrictions which came into force on 24 December, employees in Ireland must work from home unless they are classified as essential workers and their work cannot be done at home.

The government today updated the list of essential workers to provide that it does not include administrative or other support services for businesses unless it is for one of the businesses and services listed below and the physical presence of the administrative/support worker in the workplace is required.

Essential administrative and support activities are:

  • payroll and payment services necessary for the operation of undertakings and bodies.
  • employment placement/HR services associated with the recruitment/deployment of workers who provide essential services.
  • data processing/website hosting and related activities.
  • security activities to assist with either or both of (i) the delivery of essential services and (ii) the security of premises closed to the public.
  • Funeral, burial and related services.
  • Business support services including IT and communications technology support and sales, repair and maintenance for these services where these services are necessary to support i) other essential services or ii) a person working from home where their business is being operated from their residence or iii) a business that is not an essential service, to the extent required to maintain the business in operation or minimise any delayin the business resuming operation once the public health restrictions have been lifted.
  • Cleaning services, industrial cleaning activities and the provision of certain key third party supports provided under a contract of services are also permitted where such services are necessary to support any other essential service.
  • Essential health and safety training that cannot be done remotely.

The government guidance on Level 5 restrictions is available here

Related items

Related services

Back To Top